P_7.jpg

Books with positive thoughts, wisdom, stories, inspiration & Bios:

  • “Becoming” by Michelle Obama

  • “Salt Water Buddha: A surfers quest to find Zen on the Sea” Jaimal Yogis

  • “If I Understood You, Would I have this look on my Face” Alan Alda #AlanAlda

  • “May I be happy: A Memoir of love, yoga and chaning my mind” Cyndi Lee #CyndiLee

  • “The Goddess Pose: The Audacious Life of Indra Devi, the Woman Who Helped Bring Yoga to the West” by Michelle Goldberg

  • “Misadventures of a Garden State Yogi” – Brian Leaf

  • “Misadventures of a Parenting Yogi” – Brian Leaf – get ready to laugh outloud!  

  • “The Book of Joy” Dalai Lama and Desmond Tutu

  • “The Buddha Walks int a bar” – Lodro Rinzler

  • “Learning to Breathe” – Priscilla Warner

  • “Learning to Breathe” – Alison Wright

  • “My Year With Eleanor” – Noelle Hancock

  • “Art of Racing in the Rain” – Garth Stein

  • “The Happiness Project” – Gretchen Rubin

  • “A dogs purpose”  – Bruce Cameron

  • “Estranged” – Jessica Berger Gross

  • “Enlightened – Jessica Berger Gross

  • “The Journey Home” Radhanath Swami

  • “White Lama” Douglas Veenhof

  • “Rebel Buddha- on the road to freedom” – Dzogchen Ponlop

  • “What makes you not a buddhist” – Dzongsar Khyentse

  • “Hand Wash Cold”-  Karen Maezen Miller

  • “Paradise in Plain Sight” – Karen Maezen Miller

  • Carotid and Vertebral Artery Dissection - A guide for Survivors and their loved ones - Jodi A Dodds, MD

Note – books are not listed in an order of importance or preference.  Enjoy!



Studying: Yoga & Meditation Books

  • “Your Spine Your Yoga”  – Bernie Clark

  • “Living the Sutras” A guide to Yoga Wisdom beyond the Mat” DiNardo & Pearce-Hyaden

  • “Intelligent Yoga” – Peter Blackaby – recently updated not avail yet in US – must order it directly from Peter but easy to do so.  He may even sign it!  #peterblackaby

  • “The Buddha Walks into The Office” – Lordo Rinzler

  • “The Complete Guide to Yin Yoga” Bernie Clark #bernieclark

  • “Deep Listening” – Jullian Pransky #jullianpransky

  • The Teacher Appears: 108 Prompts to Power Your Yoga Practice” – Brian Leaf – #brianleaf

  • “The Here and Now – Habit” Hugh G. Byrne, PHD #hughbyrne

  • “Hatha Yoga Pradipika” – Muktibodhananda Swami

  • “Yoga and the Quest for the True Self” – Stephen Cope #stephencope

  • “Yoga & Ayurveda” – David Frawley

  • “Kripalu Yoga” Richard Faulds

  • “Pilgrim of Love: The Life and Teachings of Swami Kripalu” – Atma Jo Ann Levitt

  • “True Refuge” – Tara Brach  #tarabrach

  • “Yoga Yajnavalkya” – Translated by A.G. Mohan #agmohan

  • “Mindfulness Yoga” Frank Jude Boccio

  • “Light On Yoga” –  BKS Iyengar  #iyengar

  • “The 8 Human Talents” –  Gurmukh  #gurmukh

  • “The Heart of Yoga – Dev a personal Practice” by T.K.V.  Desikachar  #desikachar

  • “A New Earth” – Eckhart Tolle  #tolle

  • “The Yoga Sutras Of Patanjali”  – many versions but esp fond of Sri Swami Satchidananda

  • “Bhagavad Gita” – many versions

  • “Yoga as Medicine” -Timothy McCall, M.D.

  • “Gandhi on Non-Violence” edited by Thomas Merton

  • “A Life Worth Breathing”  – Max Strom  #maxstrom

  • “There is no app for happiness” – Max Strom

  • “Autobiography of a Yogi” by Paramahansa Yogananda

  • “Yoga Mala” – Sri K. Pattabhi Jois  #jois

  • “Yoga and the Quest for the True Self”  – Stephen Cope

  • “Soul Friends” – Stephen Cope

  • “The Four Desires” – Rod Stryker #rodstryker

  • “True Love” Thich Nhat Hanh  #thichnhathanh

  • “Krishnamacharya” AG Mohan

  • “The Secret Power of Yoga” – Nischala Joy Deve

  • “Yoga Reminder: Lightened Reflections” by A. G. Mohan and Ganesh Mohan

  • “Yoga & the Pursuit of Happiness” Sam Chase

This book explains so much of what I have gone through and is so helpful during recovery.  Wish I had it 6.5 years ago!

This book explains so much of what I have gone through and is so helpful during recovery. Wish I had it 6.5 years ago!